Africa Oil & Gas: Uganda shortlists 16 companies in first petroleum licensing round

Uganda first Petroleum licensing round
Uganda first Petroleum licensing round

Government of Uganda has concluded the evaluation of Applications for Qualification from the 17 firms that submitted the Applications. 
Dr. F.A Kabagambe-Kaliisa, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Energy & Mineral Development, said: ’16 of the 17 firms that submitted the Applications met the evaluation criteria as spelt out in the Request for Qualification document and will therefore proceed to the Request for Proposal stage of this licensing round.  The firms were evaluated based on their technical competence, financial capabilities, legal qualifications as well as National Content and Health Safety and Environment track record.’ 

The 16 successful firms are:

  1. African Exploration Venture (JV comprising of Rapid Africa Energy Pty Limited and Africa Energy SA Corp), South Africa
  2. African Global Resources (JV comprising of Telconet Capital Limited, RT-Global Resources LLC and JSC Tatneft),Russia
  3. Armour Energy Limited, Australia
  4. Brightoil Petroleum (Uganda) Limited, Hong Kong/China
  5. Glint Energy, LLC, USA
  6. MDC Oil and Gas Holding Company, LLC, United Arab Emirates
  7. Niger Delta Petroleum Resources Limited, Nigeria
  8. Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Videsh Limited, India
  9. Oranto Petroleum International Limited, Nigeria
  10. Petoil (Uganda) Limited, Turkey
  11. Petrica Energy AS, Norway
  12. Rift Energy Uganda Limited, Canada
  13. SASOL Exploration and Production International Limited, South Africa
  14. Swala Energy (Uganda) Limited, Australia
  15. Tullow Uganda Operations Pty Limited, Ireland
  16. Waltersmith Petroman Oil Limited, Nigeria

The Ministry will in due course issue the Request for Proposal and the Modal Production Sharing Agreement documents to the qualified firms to bid for blocks or a block of their interest after the mandatory acquisition of data in the blocks or a block through the physical Data Room at the Directorate of Petroleum in Entebbe.

The six biddable blocks comprise of the Ngassa (410 Km2) in Hoima District, Taitai & Karuka(565 Km2) in Buliisa District, Ngaji (895 Km2) in Rukungiri & Kanungu Districts, Mvule (344 Km2) in Moyo and Yumbe Districts together with Turaco (425 Km2) and Kanywantaba (344 Km2) in Ntoroko District. (Source: Uganda Directorate of Petroleum)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.